Foreign love

Photo by Zara Walker @Unsplash

I’m not looking for love anymore. I’ve grew tired throughout the years. And being very honest, I’ve lost a little of that shine in the eye and belief in the magic. There’s no sincere prince and the charmings are cute but untrustworthy.

I’m not looking for love anymore. I’m tired of the outside pressure that keeps repeating you’re not someone unless you’ve got someone. And being very honest with you, I’m tired of my own expectations.

I’m not looking for love anymore. That picture perfect relationship that will try to complete me and promise me happiness. “The one”. And being very honest with you, I don’t think that’s ever going to be possible.

Because I am not looking for love anymore. That love that comes from anywhere but within. From now on I’ll be the one to love me. And being very honest with you, that has been the best decision I’ve made this year.
© Máh Lima

6 thoughts on “Foreign love

  1. Certainly the best thing we can do for ourselves is just love ourselves with all our hearts, and rescue ourselves from the dragons…..and then if some day a prince of some kind comes into our lives, rather than “completing” us, all he does is provide a nice ornamentation to the beauty that’s already there. Love this. Thank you for sharing it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s so true Meghan! We’re complete on our own and we should always remember that, no matter how many times outsiders say it isn’t so. Self love can be seen as selfish. And sometimes, I guess it is. But it is the first form of love we should truly know, before we can love anyone else. Thank you. Much love and light to you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

