“You left in peace, left me in pieces”

image_560604141211488308084.jpg
Art by Loui Jover

It was completely my fault. For loving you too much, too hard, too deep. For believing that by giving I’d get even a tiny bit back. I was so sure you needed me, I failed to notice the changes. Maybe at one point you really did need my attention, my affections. And it was utterly my fault. For not realising in giving all of me to you, I held little of myself in my own hands. And when you let me go and walked away, I only broke because I had no way of keeping myself together. I had nothing left of me in my hands to hold.

I had already forgotten how to fly.
© Máh Lima


3 thoughts on ““You left in peace, left me in pieces”

Leave a Reply

